Skip to content

Fat Paddlers do it better…

May 10, 2011

So far I have found paddlers in general  to be a nice & helpful bunch of people.

Whenever I have met some-one on land, or bumped into some-one on the water – then general conversation, assistance and advice is always on hand. I remember when I first visited with the LCRK about 2 years ago – the people in that group were very generous with their knowledge. One fellow in particular taught me a few invaluable paddling tips to improve my general manoeuvrability that I still depend on to this day !!

Last Saturday morning I met this bloke on the water, who paddled with me for a short distance. He was in a faster yak but slowed to chat for a few minutes, and the assistance he provided me on improving my stroke was much appreciated. He also shared a few ideas on how to improve my overall training and given this man had years of experience, then it’s something I will definitely try. He suggested that I tie some rope around the bow of my boat so that it disrupts the smooth lines and creates some resistance in the water. He didn’t advocate it all the time – but suggested about once a month I do this to create sufficient drag and cause me to paddle harder. It’s a great idea and one I am looking forward to trying !!

Lastly – there is this other fellow called the Fat Paddler – great name huh?. He has a worldwide following and runs a great Blog which you can read here www.fatpaddler.com

I found him on Twitter about 1.5 years ago and have enjoyed reading about his regular exploits on the water. If you like reading Blogs about kayaking – then without sending you away from mine – I thoroughly recommend him. This guy raised the bar and set the benchmark. His name is Sean Smith – and I spoke with him last week to get some advice about preparing for the Hawkesbury Classic (namely because we have alot in common – being a “Fat Paddler” that is *grin*). True to form he was generous with his advice and offered assistance above and beyond. So I wanted to acknowledge him here. Thanks very much Sean !!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 21, 2011 1:04 pm

    Thanks for the kind words. Just remember, keep paddling, keep your sense of humour, and most importantly, have fun. You’ll be fit before you know it!

Leave a Reply

