Skip to content

Kayaking the South Coast – Part 2.

July 10, 2011

Day Two

I rose early to go out fishing.

I was again blessed with perfect weather…. Who said it was winter??

01 a Roos

Good morning Mr Roo!! - There are harder ways to start the day.

I had rigged up the top deck of my yak with some fishing gear…this included a purpose-built fishing rod and a special working platform, that strapped to my deck lines.

02 fishing deck

Nice set-up huh?

And then I spent the next 2 hours stalking my prey…

I could go on about my prowess as a hunter, my skill as an angler, and my local know-how for the best fishing spots – but this video best sums up my entire experience….

Apparently – and to add insult to injury – the ‘Bream Classic’ fishing competition that  I mentioned was on that same weekend, saw a total of 140+ fish bagged with the largest weighing in 1.4 kg. They were all released but who am I kidding anyway…. ??…..

Thankfully there is a good fish monger in town….

Day Three

The weather held out again – and I was determined to practice my rolls and self rescue.

I got my hands on two of those paddle floats – and essential bit of safety kit for the lone paddler. I had  also spent the previous evening watching a “how to roll” video and figured I knew all the moves.

I found some deep water, set up my camera and then went through the motions….

Having reviewed the video – I’m afraid I can only go with a select few snapshots – the video is way to undignified for the eternal memory banks of the Internet *grin*….

I started with the floats on each end so I could practice my hip snap.

Roll 1

Then I practiced rolling with a float on only one end of the paddle to provide some buoyancy and get the over-all feeling of the movement.

Then – with newfound confidence – I removed that last paddle float and executed…..

roll 2

a near perfect…..

 

roll 3

….Wet-exit  🙂

I am definitely booking a hands-on instructor next.

To wrap up this overall experience – I thought I may as well practice a self rescue since I was already bobbing about in the water. I had the float after all and Sean (AKA The Fat Paddler) explained the reverse entry technique for re-entering the cockpit with a float… How hard could it be…??

 

Need I say more?

It helps to make sure both legs get into the cockpit before you turn around….but before you write me off as a complete failure – I did successfully re-enter the second time in a time of 2 minutes 40 seconds… something to benchmark against for next time  🙂

In fact – I’m sure I’ll look back on this in a few years time when I am far more accomplished, and chuckle.

Day Four

This is turning into a long Blog entry so let me wrap it up by saying that day 4 was a paddle up the Berrara River (just 10 minutes drive from Sussex Inlet) and I’m glad I squeezed it in because even though these pictures show the sun – it was really windy. And the forecast was only getting windier – in fact by nightfall it was blowing a gale outside and that didn’t let up until Thursday.

So to wrap this up I’ll let the pictures tell the rest of the story – just a lovely paddle up a beautiful isolated waterway on the South Coast.

PHOT0113

PHOT0084

PHOT0086

PHOT0097

PHOT0104

PHOT0101

PHOT0108

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 9:49 am

    This was brilliant Mick, I so enjoyed the getting into the Kayak…Lesley notice you stopping before you got in due to the speed boat going.past!! I’m sure at one stage you were wedged trying to get that leg in…could see you were just about to burst out into a Stelzer laugh!! Wish I was there ….we would have drowned . Having said that, the pictures were fantastic, you captured the beauty and serenity………..love it!

  2. July 13, 2011 11:49 am

    Thanks Frank. “Wedged” is a great descriptive word of that whole experience 🙂

Leave a Reply

